3.4.13

Cat meows up at me
‘Pick me up and carry me the rest of
the way, will you?
Winter’s so friggin’ long, and
dark, Christ it’s been
dark. I’m lethargic
and don’t feel so great.’

I told him
I came home tonight
with the window down
and the heater off
and smelled the soaking air
and it might be temporary
but it will be over soon.

All ends, else nobody would
ever begin again,
shoegaze or look back petrified;
you’re only going one way.

He sat in my lap,
said “I know, I’ll be okay,
before you know it,
it’ll be a late June day,
and we’ll be sitting on the deck
one of those nights
still light at ten PM,
much more left to say yet,
friend.
Much more left to say yet,
friend.

 

1 thought on “3.4.13”

Leave a Reply

